Monday, March 22, 2010

A LONG week...

This past week was spring break, even though it didn't feel like it! We were very busy ALL WEEK LONG! My sis came down to wedding plan. We went to Abilene 2 days in a row, then to Brownwood one day. We got a lot done, including finding Shelby's flowergirl dress on clearance for 30 bucks! Needless to say, the girls were tired of going, and were fussy pretty much all week. Each shopping trip included a few melt downs...especially from Shelby! The Terrible THREES have hit at our house...and they are NOT fun! I am so ready for Shelby to grow out of it.

On a brighter note, last week we had some very nice weather! The girls really enjoyed getting to play outside!

Here's the view off of our back porch. Shelby is SO ready to be able to go swimming in the tank!





Shelby really enjoyed pushing Leah around in her walker.




Here are some pictures of Leah's nursery. It has been done for a good while, but I'm just now getting around to taking and posting pictures!




In this pic, notice the picture frame on the right. Shelby got ahold of this one...and added her own design. I was going to fix it, and then my Dad told me to leave it alone. He said that I'll love that picture frame later on down the road, because Shelby painted it for her sister.




On Saturday, we were on our way to the in-laws house to visit with Guy's half-sister and her family, when our Australian Sheppard fell out of the back of the pick up. Guy took her to the vet, and she had to have surgery on her broken femur. A hefty vet bill and a few tranquilizers later she is laying in the laundry room recovering as we speak. Poor Daisy!! I hope she heals up quickly.
Shelby is very concerned about her. She really wants Daisy to feel better, and keeps trying to get me to give Daisy more medicine off of the top of the refrigerator (where we are keeping Daisy's pain pills and antibiotics). She is not really understanding that it will just take time for Daisy to heal, but we're working on it. She is definitely like her Daddy and wants to fix everything right now. We were blessed with a very considerate and caring little girl!

I will leave you with a few more pics, as if this post doesn't contain enough!

Tata for now!!

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Jump Up!

Well, this past weekend Guy and I got to go on a date 2 nights in a row. Saturday night, Mom gave us some tickets to "Kitchen Witches" a play showing at the Abilene Community Theater and she watched the girls so we could go. Afterward we went to one of Guy's buddies' house and had a good visit with a fire and friends. We really enjoyed the play, and had a good time with friends-it's been a long time! I didn't get any pics of us together, but here's one of me.



Our second "date" was on Sunday afternoon when we got to go to WalMart-without the girls! Thanks Kim! For most, Wal Mart doesn't classify as a date-but it sure does for us! Outings w/o the girls are few and far between, and we enjoyed our weekend. :)

I am so excited tell you that Leah learned how to actually JUMP in her Johnny Jump Up this week. I've always heard that they are the best babysitters ever, but Shelby never would jump in it so I had no idea! They truly ARE great babysitters when you're doing the dishes. ;) Here's a video of Shelby and Leah's favorite thing to do lately-playing Ring around the Rosie!




Leah has found where we keep the canned goods, and is totally fascinated! She always finds her way into the kitchen to look at them.
Leah has also developed a love of being upside down, or at least laying down with her head thrown back. Everytime we sit in the chair, we are doing this (Notice Shelby beside me copying Sister):




I'll leave you with some pics of the girls before church last night!


TaTa for now! :)

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Up at 3 a.m.....




Well I am up...at 3 a.m....AGAIN! Shelby will NOT sleep through the night!!! I am so so SO exhausted!! I can not wait till the day arrives that I can finally get some rest. But, anyhow, I thought since I was up I'd fill everyone in on what's going on lately.

Shelby has decided that she LOVES the number 4. Anytime she eats she wants 4 fries, or 4 pieces of cheese, or 4 pancakes. She is getting so big and getting her own ideas about things, and it is so amazing to see! Yesterday, as I was fixing her hair before church, she said "Mom, I don't want you to fix my hair poofy." When I asked her why not, she said "Moooom, I don't want to look like a poodle!!" I busted out laughing. The things she says is SO cute!!

Miss Avery puts EVERYTHING in her mouth nowadays! I know all babies do, but Shelby had absolutely NOTHING on this girl! And, with a 3 year old running around it is hard to go around and pick up everything! Leah loves to put paper in her mouth...and if she sees anything white laying on the floor you KNOW where she's headed to.

I just realized last night that Leah is almost 8 months old (on the 7th!) I just now got used to saying 7 months old instead of 6!! And she has finally cut her first tooth!! YAY!! It is her right bottom one.

She's pulling up now and crawling in and out of different rooms and exploring the house. Sunday night Guy was in the bedroom and called me back there, so I went back there to see what he wanted. Of course, Leah started fussing and before we knew it she was in our room! She had followed me from the living room into the bedroom, and let me tell you that girl can book it when she wants to!! Here's a pic of my sweet baby pulling up for the first time!!!


And here is one of Leah in the bath!

We also bought a new couch last week! While me and the girls were at church last night, Guy went to Abilene to pick it up, and when he got it home I didn't think we'd be able to get it through the door! With a lot of pushing and turning we finally got it inside...and I LOVE IT! It is tan microfiber, and goes perfectly with our dark brown microfiber recliners. We gave our old couch to Grandaddy Bill. His couch had just about had it, and he was really glad to be getting rid of it I think!

Just gonna clean today and get things done around the house I imagine. I've gotta study 2 chapters in Gov't too. Needless to say...I will be counting down the hours until nap time!! I sure do hope Shelby will start sleeping through the night....and soon!

Monday, March 1, 2010

I decided something today...

So, not much in this post but gonna write some before Guy gets home! Here's a few pics from the last week including Leah getting into the cokes and her first time with a sippy cup-among other things!






I also have some exciting news. Might not be exciting to anybody else-but it is exciting and rather relieving to me. I'm taking a semester off of school-at least the summer II semester if not the entire semester. I'm finishing out this semester, might take some summer I courses and will start back in the fall.For those of you who don't know, I've gone for 2 and a half yrs straight including summers. During nursing school I also took A&P 1 and 2 and Microbiology, which meant taking 16 hours 2 semesters and 19 hours one semester-with a 1 year old. Not only that but Guy and I married 9 days before we moved to Sweetwater and hit college full time. 1st year of marriage, a baby, and both going to college full time with Guy working after class and on weekends. Can you say STRESSFUL?? I've done alot, I have all of my Associates Pre-reqs and several of by Bachelor's pre-reqs. School for me has ALWAYS been done for Shelby, and now for both of my girls, so I have felt a little bit of Mommy Guilt every time I have wanted to take a break. It sounds dumb, right? But who can explain the feelings and reasons a Mom feels the way she does about certain things when it comes to her kids?? This morning, as I was beginning a Government paper that is due tomorrow @ 6 and Leah was nursing simultaneously (TMI for some of you out there-if anybody is reading this!), and Shelby wanted me to cut her an apple and have a tea party and help her get a book off of her shelf, phone ringing, and the dryer buzzing all at the same time I realized that it is okay. It is okay to feel stressed. It is okay to take a break. It is okay to lighten your load for a few months. IT IS OKAY. The house will not come crashing down if I take ONE semester off-and neither will our financial future. Me finishing school is very important to me as a person and as a MOM and to our family's future, but what is MOST important right now is enjoying the girls, because they are only little ONCE.

I realize that I have probably written this post to convince myself that I should take some time-be it just 2 months-to be JUST a mom. Not a mom and student, and not a mom and nurse (I've thought about going to work to get my degree quicker), and not a mom and a nurse and a student. I realized that I don't have to be super woman and take on everything at once, and that being just MOM for 2 months is okay with me.

Tata for now. Gotta get dinner started-Guy just called to say he's on his way home! :)